barstool manifesto at ten pm

i was thinking about getting drunk and acting accordingly at a little bar a few miles from here when i saw her, walking softly across the room, music louder than i like, not affecting her movements, not telling her where to go. But she moved. To her own rythm that wasn't any sort of rhythm at all. Just a sway back and forth between euphoria and madness and i felt myself saying careful soft aloud (only for me) to her: "i just wanna be the one that knows your eyes when i sleep knows your glance name face the things about you when you sleep. marry my thoughts marry my dreams, i want to know your name. where do you sleepthinkpray lovehateworship feel greedneedpsychoticadoration? give me a word and i'll dream the nile into being."

i left after that and slept the best i had in years.

2002-09-20 | 9:19 p.m.
0 comments so far

previousnext

background