the coastergirl diaries volume seven

on the airwaves: firebird band-the setting sun and it's satelites

at this point coastergirl and i had never had an argument of any kind. not even any real disagreements. when we thought differently, we thought differently and that was okay. but as any shrink will tell you a few arguments are good. ( a little nonsense now and then, cherished by the wisest men.) so let me tell you about the first one we ever had.

we were supposed to go to the wrothington after she got off work and i had spent the day reading autobiography of a spiritually incorrect mystic at work, so i bid her farewell and went home to shower. i needed a shower. while i was there, i got a call from an old freind of mine from the record store that i hadn't seen in quite awhile. in fact, i hadn't talked to any of my old friends in a while (which was of some stress to brae whom i usually talked to bi-weekly. but i'll tell you about her later.). so when diamond dave called i knew what he wanted. me and diamond always did the same thing. get drunk on cheap beer and dance our asses off to jazz (grant green, pharoah sander, miles, sun ra, others) and occasionally throw in some other styles that had been on our mind of late (deltron, band of gypsies, mescalito, biz markee and on). it was a switch off dj session and we were the hosts and guests of the party. it was beautiful. and it sounded great. i met him at work (he worked just down the street from where i worked) and told coastergirl that i was going to spend some time with diamond being that i hadn't even talked to him in months. she was pissed. (she hates diamond to this day) but, to her credit, she tried to hide it, knowing that she had no real reason to be upset. granted i was cancelling plans, but for a reason that is understandable. wouldn't you? i knew her well, and she was mad. she went to the worthington anyway but with a different friend. i told her i'd call her later.

diamond and i, as per usual got drunk and were just heading into the second chorus of biz markee's you got what i need, diamond howling at the top of his lungs, both of us near tears (there's no one alive who can't relate to that song) when the phone rang.

her: we're leaving the worthington. you want to meet up?
me: now?
her: yeah. i really want to see you.
me: okay. where are you?
her: fort worth
me: meet me at the IHOP by my house in 45 minutes.

after this diamond and i got into a really important conversation, the kind you can't just say "sorry, bye" in the middle of espcially since we were at my house. after about 40 minutes iu called coasergirl. she didn't answer her cell. i left a drunken sprawling message to the effect of:

me: heeeey, i'm gonna....gonna be a bit late, we are ha...ving a real portant dixcusion now, see you in afew magnets. bye.

i got there 15 minutes later (the IHOP was less than a thrity second drive from my old apartment) and she wasn't there. i waited a few minutes then called her from the payphone.

her: hello?
me: what's going on? wher are you?
her: i'm going home. i waited ten minutes and you weren't there.
me: you only waited ten minutes?
her: don't you dare-don't you DARE ever call me that drunk again.
me: huh?
her: you heard me.
me: i'm not allowed to drink, is that what you're trying to say?
her: just don't EVER call me that drunk again----click.

at this point she hung up before i got a chance to point out that she had gotten my message and known i was gonna be late and still only waited ten minutes. it wouldn't have mattered. i tried calling her back, hoping we'd just gotten disconnected as cell often do, but she had turned her phone off.

i just want to take a moment to point out: this conversation took place in REAL life.

by the time i got back to my place diamond was passed out watching high fidelity and i went to bed.

anyway, she called me in the morning to appologize for "being such a bitch". i never called her again drunk though.

2002-09-22 | 6:47 p.m.
0 comments so far

previousnext

background