give me a day to feel alone

it was autumn and i knew it would be cold out. i could smell the snow coming a month two away. i waiting for a chance to see my breath. listening to modest mouse cover sleepwalking on interstate eight and knowing, knowing it could never amount to more than what it was, what i thought it could ever be, never be, never thought to trust you completely and fall back, watching the light fall upwards and hit me like a wave aacross the cheek. this is my merry go round, my waste of space and end of day. you can never steal this sunset dream from me. you can never have the place of me that gives you all i have. you can never be the room. you will always be at my door, locked. there is numbness now, when i think of you. a shadow moving along the line of your skirt. whishps of hair flying catastrophic in the breeze, this is how i remember love. locked in a cagge cafe of dancing shadows and miracles unheeded, unwanted. a stolen kiss at dawn and a feeling that something else will always fill my mind when you come around. even you skin smells solitary and huge now like the ocean. watching fateful, you can only have time to rethink me, readjust you mindet to the one who set the sun for you, the one who jumped building in your single bound and knew he'd love you anyway. you made me fly.

2002-09-24 | 4:02 p.m.
0 comments so far

previousnext

background