the coastergirl diaries volume seventeen

i suppose i should dangle back a bit and tell you about how it all fell apart at the coffee shop. that's what you want to hear any, right? how things fall apart. here's the way of it:

i was sitting and looking through the records stories of money spent and used and otherwise gone, missing register funds, stolen funds, master keys used in places that didn't make sense, and put together that our tips were being stolen, the store was being ripped off, and our hours were being stolen. fucking tim.

I decided to have a chat with him.

me: you know I did all the accounts billing and figure loss prevention at the record store, right?
tim: I didn�t know that.
me: one of the main aspects of the job was recognizing where missing money went and who helped it get there.
tim: can we talk about this later, I have a few things to take care of?
me: sure.

this went on and then suddenly rumors began floating about that it was coastergirl and I that were taking the money.

me: I heard you�ve been telling people that coastergirl I have been taking money.
random other employee: I was only repeating what I heard.
me: it�s best to be careful what you repeat. especially if the source isn�t credible.
random employee: tim told me that.
me: like I said.

so I asked tim about it and he told me john Edward had seen me doing it. john Edward had put in his notice a few weeks back and had just left. things always seemed to be that convenient for tim.

me: well, has anyone who could be contacted for verification of this statement seen anything?
tim: �.what is that supposed to mean?
me: did it need clarification?
tim: �.

then john edward came back to work there. his other job had not worked out to his liking. so I asked him.

me: did you tell tim coastergirl and I have been skimming?
john edward: what?
me: that�s what he told me.
john edward: he told me that.
me: did he?
john edward: yeah.
me: why are you telling everyone you�re getting a raise?
john edward: tim told me I was. for coming back. two dollars an hour. I�m not supposed to tell anyone though.
me: are you not?
john edward: that�s what he said.

the next day I pulled tim aside on account of coastergirl being of the same management level as john edward and she was offended that he would get a raise and she wouldn�t.

me: you know, a lot of people are upset that you are giving john edward a raise. they�re saying that they should quit and come back too so that they can get a raise.
tim: he�s not getting a raise.
me: he said you told him he was.
tim: he must have made that up�I can�t believe he did that. I could just strangle him for messing up my store.
me: these are the sorts of problems a person wants to get to the bottom of.
tim: I�ll talk to him about making things up.
me: that�s probably a good idea.

the next day:

me: why did you lie about getting a raise? you�ve gone and upset coastergirl.
john edward: I didn�t.
me: tim said you did.
john edward: oh did he?...well, let me tell you what he told me about you.

the next hour or so was a rough meeting of the entire staff minus their store manager discovering secret tales told to each employee about how every other employee was ruining their chances and they were the only employee he really trusted. to each he had said this. and with a list of the evils of every employee behind it. apparently, the task was made his to pit us against each other. so I was asked to confront tim.

me: we need to have a chat.
tim: can it wait?
me: it�s waited long enough already.
alright, I�ll meet you out front in a few minutes.
me: I�ll see you then. [a few minutes passed and he sauntered on out.] we all had a little chat yesterday and I wanted to discuss it with you.
tim: okay.
me: well, it seems you�ve been talking trash to every employee about everyone else. telling each of us that we were the only employees that mattered. on top of blaming coastergirl and I for the money you�ve been taking.
tim: I haven�t been taking any money.
me: let�s save ourselves the embarrassment of lies, shall we?
tim: well, what about the staff?
me: you need to do a little recovery on that. they�re feeling awfully betrayed, and it will be awhile, if ever, they can trust you again.
tim: betrayed? that�s a harsh word.
me: harsh words for harsh circumstances.
tim: I�ll talk to them.
me: thank you, and stop blaming us for the money okay?
tim: okay.

he never did either. coastergirl called the district manager. she presented the evidence insurmountable and he told us it was our responsiblility to deal with it. he�s the district manager she told him, he should do that, we shouldn�t have to manage our managers. he said it was our job and hung up.

the next day tim called her in and told her the district manger had called him and told him that his employees were going over his head. coastergirl shouted at him and left in a huff.

the next day I quit, leaving tim to work a triple shift. coastergirl left three days later. followed by monkey boy, followed by accuser girl, followed by john edward, all in a week and half span. his entire management staff in under two weeks. it was beautiful.

[interesting tidbit: both tim and the district manager were fired recently from the coffeehouse employ. they were both reportedly arrested for embezzlement. another victory for karma.]



2002-09-28 | 1:20 p.m.
0 comments so far

previousnext

background