the coastergirl diaries volume thirty

"she say it's "it's only in my head". she says "shhh..i know, it's only in my head." but the girl on the car in the parking lot says man you should try to take a shot, can't you see my walls are crumbling? then she looks up that the building, says she's thinking of jumping, says she's tired of life. she must be tired of somthing. round here, she's always on my mind."
-adam duritz

one night we were sitting at IHOP drinking coffee and round here by the counting crows came on. i love this song tremendously and one part in particular always gets me. the part when he's talking about the girl jumping. i lose myself in it everytime. and i did that night. curled up in a tight tiny ball on the chair head down eyes closed i could smell the girl's shampoo see the smeared lipstick an eye watering as she spoke the words into being...it just shreds me. the song ended and faded into mexico by james taylor. i love that song too, i took a drink of my coffee raised my head and listened to the idea of falling from grace only to find it in beautiful changes of scenery. coastergirl spoke up.

her: i never liked those guys.
me: who?
her: the counting crows.
me: how could you not?
her: i just enever have...but that's the third time we've been somewhere and heard that song. everytime it comes on you go somewhere till it's over.
me: sorry. it's kind of wierd i guess. i can't help it though.
her: it's making me realize how amazing the song is. it'll always sound like youfolding your eyes closed now.
me: i'm glad you like the song.
her: i like you.
me: me too
her: (laughing)

just then this guy came in all skitzy and sat down flopping his arms all over looking paranoid behind him around him out the windows. everyone in non is suddenly unbothered by the smell of cigarette smoke and clumped together with usover in the smoking section watching waiting for him to flip out altogether.

in a few minutes, the six biggest cops i've ever seen come in and sorround him. he jumps under the table hands over his head like a three year old on crack playing hide and go seek.

me: to much speed.
her: that's my guess.

the cops finally wrestle him down. he's screaming yelling about how the little green men are going to get him and eat his brain. they pull his wallet out, look through a few things find something of interest and one of them walks out. the rest continue holding him.

a bit and a while later some paramedics show up and administer a shot into the cuffed thrashing man's arm.

her: that's an odd place for them to inject adrenaline.
me: i was thinking that too.

after a minute drips by he gets up, appologizes the cops ask him if he's alright and he leaves.

her: why'd they let him leave?
me: i don't know.

the waitress comes over and tells us all that he is diabetic and they gave him insulin. now he's fine, she tells us. she appogizes for the inconvenience.

her: i've never heard of a diabetic that hardcore. and i've known some hardcore diabetics.
me: me either...but they let him go, so they must have known what they were doing.

we drank a few mroe cups of coffee and bounced subtle out of there. ont he way to the car coastergirl looked at me.

her: i love you.
me: see you tommorrow.

a hug and i went to my car knwoing she wanted more.

her: are you going home?
me: yeah.
her: why?
me: so you know i can resist too.

when i got home she called me and we had fantastic phone sex. interesting day bled into amazing night. isn't that the way of good things?

2002-09-22 | 4:08 p.m.
0 comments so far

previousnext

background