the night of broken promises

when it's early and warm i lay in bed turning over last nights dreams in my mind (wandering hands) burnt finger tips walking hallways in upstate new york we were talking so slowly (the world and me) and a man chased me across the street to ask me if he could buy the hat i was wearing off of me so i tossed it to him tossed it right over what's the difference anyway?

then a party a gathering at least a hundred cars out front and i was walking around trying not find the people i came with walking around trying to find the people that invited me trying to trying to find the people that asked me to come at all and they were somewhere somewhere but i couldn't find them; the people were leaving in their cars and i was still looking for everyone for the people that smiled when they said my name that held their heads high the people that i was promised to and who were promised to me.

when i woke it had been a long night of broken promises and i was more tired than when it began.

2004-06-27 | 9:43 a.m.
0 comments so far

previousnext

background