actually, i don't wonder (i think it's pretty obvious)

did i ever tell you that my greatest fear since childhood has been being forgotten? well, now you know.

in my head, all growing up i had these long droning nightmares about my own funeral and laying there in that box somehow knowing that not a damn person was there, that no one in fact had even noticed, and then feeling the hourly-paid help pick up my casket and take me out back and roll me into a deep enough hole to prevent stinking.

in the long line towards death, the easiest thing to be is neighborless.

it's ironic that there are people (a few) all over the world trying to forget me. i wonder what that says about our own ability to draw our fears and desires to us.

2004-07-01 | 3:43 p.m.
0 comments so far

previousnext

background