lo-fi life: a dream

we were playing cards when the phone rang. no limit hold 'em. i was up and drawing warm cards. it took me a minute to realize that it was my phone ringing and by the time i did, he had already answered it. i tend to get pretty focused on what's at hand. especially when i get top two pair on the flop. and i did that hand. but him answering my phone was such a strange turn of events it absorbed me into it. i had a pretty good guess who it was. i thought about my last phone conversation with her.

me: hey, power ranger. (i have no idea why this was my nickname for her, but everyone seemed to be aware that it was.)
her: what are you up to?
me: i'm just sitting her reading.
her: well, i can't really talk, i just wanted to say hi.
me: well, give me a shout later on tonight.
her: i'll try, but i have some other things to do and i really need to catch up on sleep.

i knew this meant she wanted to talk to him instead.

remembering that conversation just then kind of bothered me. when he finished talking to her, he passed the phone to me. i picked it up and spoke into the lower end. "don't call here again." and i hung up.

him: so, the cold shoulder for power anger, huh?
me: she was looking for an excuse anyway. this way, she gets to see it as my fault.
him: she wasn't looking for anything like that.
me: like you'd know.
him: you're such an asshole, sometimes. that girl really cares about you.

i realized he was right just before i woke.

2004-06-12 | 3:30 p.m.
0 comments so far

previousnext

background