the coastergirl diaries volume twenty-four

at detroit's we were sitting eating buffalo chickens picnic style and talking. months before adam.

her: if you could have sex with anyone in the wrold who would it be?
me: you. (this is still true sadly enough)
her: (smiles shyly)...what about a celebrity?
me: shirly manson...or actually debbie harry circa 1983.
her: what about someone wyou've seen in person but don't know?
me: that little punk rock chick we saw at bennigans.
her: you just love those punk rock chicks, don't you?
me: what about you?
her: what about me what?
me: celebrity.
her:...richard ashcroft.
me: someone you've seen but don't know. me: and you love those dancers.
her: i can't help it. it turns me on.
me: it does most girls.
her: but the kind i like isn't the same as the kind most girls like. i like alot of pop and locks.

we were wuiet eatting drinking for a few minutes then she asked me.

her: what are the five worst musical deaths of the ninties?
me: brad nowell, marc sandman, tupac, cobain, and michael hutchence. you?
her: the guy from blind melon, kurt cobain-
me: i don't think we should be allowed to use each others choices.
her: okay...blind melon, sinatra-
me: bitch, i should have thought of that.
her: curtis mayfield, notorious.
me: i always thought that guy was over rated. me: right on.
her: oh, right on (mocking).

we asked elvis what bands he'd wished had never broken up.

elvis: talking heads, pixies, tripping daisy, minor threat.
me: come on, fugazi kicks ass.
elvis: doesn't mean i don't wish they hadn't broken up. sublime. and the beatles.
her: obvious man over here.
elvis: so.
i gotta throw down the velvet underground.
her: of course you do.
me: social d
elvis: i can't go with you on that one.
me: they're fucking cool as shit, you don't even know. joy division-
elvis: new order is great though. her: jesus you got him started.
elvis: sorry. me: it's not personal in any way. no emotion just top ten reaching computer sounds.
elvis: understood.
me: so joy divison, velvet undergound, social d, the roginal e street band with max wienberg and...fuck you for taking sublime. me: the verve.
her: the who, cap'n jazz, the stooges, blondie, and braid. me: right on.

this is how we spent the entire night. that and sutting up menus and coasters and beer labels and attaching themtogether to form phrases like "get laid cheap at detroits", "this face seats two", and "the music is too loud for old men."

every night is gauged by the sleep you get after it so i would have tyo say i slept calm and had blissful dreams about getting drunk with bradly and michael hutchence.

2002-09-19 | 6:00 p.m.
0 comments so far

previousnext

background