love and madness on the open range

got home drunk went for a walk to get sober got home got clean analyzed my dreams. it seems the same every night as i fall as i fall to sleep eyesore scabs and wet dream nightmares tend the cattle of my mind. and all i ever know for sure is this: home is here for today yesterday held sandboxes and colaustomy bags tomorrow waits sorrow�s open arms above it�s head waving hands shaking hands with friends i never knew never called wish i could think of at times like these.

and then it hits and i can see the stars and the only things to do is get stumbling drunk and bask my way back down to earth and walk myself sober. i can�t sleep drunk anymore. don�t want to need to think to it�s all a matter of preference.

so i�ll drink this tea and detox from love and madness on the open range a while and think about soft things like words on a page and the smell of cut grass in summer and wind at my back dust shaken from my shoes.

home is here for today. and that�s the softest thing i know.



2002-09-12 | 12:20 p.m.
0 comments so far

previousnext

background