the coastergirl diaries volume nineteen

coastergirl told me about this time she went to a friend�s church as a favor to her friend. the pastor gave this long drab speech about the importance of not following the crowd ( I won�t bother to mention that more than eighty percent of America is Christian) and as he rallied the troops he had the Baptist-jugen stand and repeat ofter him:

pastor: I will not follow the crowd.
Hitler ( I mean Baptist) jugen: I will not follow the crowd.

at this point he gestured the remainder of the pep-rallie folk to join in the chanting.

coastergirl was the only one not standing.

that was the last time coastergirl attended church.

in her room, coastergirl posesses one crucifix, which hangs over the entrance to the bathroom. it had always intrigued me, so at some random interval of two intersecting points I asked her where it came from. she told me about a day when her mom had been banging on her door and she was working on something and hadn�t answered. finally:

coastergirl: god, what?
mom: no, not god�jesus.

she found the crucifix had been slid under her door by her mom. she hung it up the next day. she said it made her feel safer. no one in her family was religious.



2002-09-28 | 1:26 p.m.
0 comments so far

previousnext

background