bad tidings

�I�ve been trying to get down to the heart of the matter, but my will gets weak and my thoughts seem to scatter but I think it�s about forgiveness. Even if you don�t love me anymore.�

They always (your stories)
fail to add up anyway
and how many more are there?
so stories unfold
catch glimpses of a roadmap
with a dozen circles around the country, the world
where all your men are
keep thinking I�ll never hear your voice again
and might not (I must include this)
silent barely wallows now
I�d rather get it over with, I suppose
if only, with parted lips like tides
you�d let it come
and tell me where things stand

Where we are is not where we�re going, where
we�re going is lost to me
and how many lives have you stolen this way?
how many bodies are piled in your past?

So faded jeans or sequined dresses made me smile (make me)
and I�m trying to figure out how best to lose you with dignity,
especially if I never really had you
especially if
the commode swirls and we�re washed away.



2004-02-27 | 3:53 p.m.
0 comments so far

previousnext

background