word tango for coastergirl

you were always my delilah on the ropes jake lamotta would have fallen down for you and then it comes words ripped from the soil i can see your name scribbled on the inside of my mind, latch-keyed into the stars, mythologies crowded lightly around your stare, and you make me

goddamn you made me invincible

and then the last unwritten words, scrawled careful into my bones two sheets loose leaf wide angel college ruled lens closes in on my heart and all the strength falls from my arms legs frozen, i'm a pipeline for the need of you

and subtle slow, oh so long you begged, then dripped my dry there were deserts formed and spit forth from the back of my throat in your presence-i was the latenight gambler in your fairy tale-left barren chances slim to none of coming around of pulling through, so i anti-ed up anyway, put it all in let it all ride threw the crystallines dice of my heart across the table of your skin and waited for the two to drop.

maybe i'm still waiting.

2003-02-01 | 2:48 p.m.
0 comments so far

previousnext

background